Period of Adjustment

12 thoughts on “Period of Adjustment”

  1. Linda – This is absolutely beautiful yet heartbreaking at the same time. I am so touched by your compassion and generosity to help your own “Auntie Mame” when she desperately needs it most. No small sacrifice, but the most selfless act of love and courage.
    My mother had Alzheimer’s, so I am well acquainted with the challenges you have put fort here. The journey will be incredibly difficult, but I pray you both will find unexpected moments of joy along the way.
    Many Blessings to you both!

    1. Thank you so much for the kinds words, and for trailblazing before me. I will be leaning on the wise counsel of those who’ve been down this road as I am truly a babe in the woods right now (a VERY old “babe” in the woods).

      1. I don’t know that I have any sage words of wisdom for you, Linda except that the old adage “One day at a time” still rings true. Also, keep reaching out to others,
        and if at all possible line up a couple of
        Trustworthy caregivers and schedule
        “REGULAR BREAKS” for yourself.
        God Bless you both and I’m happy to support you any way I can. I’m a short PM away 🙂

  2. Wow Linda. Once again, you have taken on a challenge that would daunt the strongest among us. Having lived with my dad with dementia, I know it doesn’t get easier the longer you are together, but I’m praying that through some miracle, it does for you!

    1. Aww, sweet Fran: I will take any advice you can dish my way. Right now I am trying to enjoy the moments of joy and not go too crazy through this fun-house of mirrors that distort everything. Love you!

  3. Lin ~ Once again, I am swept away in both the heartache and humor as I read your words. You are an awesome woman to take on this journey. I love you and miss you…

  4. Wonderful story Linda; visceral, vulnerable, and illuminating. You really did a lovely job showing who Marlene is and what she means to you.

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words. There is still a remarkable woman inside. I just have to keep reminding myself of that in the most trying moments.

  5. Oh, my. Keep writing. For you. For her. FInd the room to breathe and circle around the now to what has mattered about this woman who touched your life so. And for us, we’ll keep reading, cheering for you and for all that Marlene was to you.

Leave a Reply

