Arrested Development, Ex-Husbands & Myopia

8 thoughts on “Arrested Development, Ex-Husbands & Myopia”

  1. Kate’s dad is projecting. You’ve accomplished so much with her. If he had been involved in her life he could have undone all the good things you worked so hard at that make her who she is today. Thank you for sharing something so personal.

    1. Thank you for the kind words. I wish I could be as philosophical as Kate to how her father views her, but it stabs deep in the center of this proud mom’s heart. You are correct: it his projection (and I think envy that she has accomplished so much without much input from him). I laid a loving and supportive foundation, but have been standing in awe of the incredible young woman that has been unfolding for nearly a decade–all on her own. At nearly six feet tall, she stands tall for many reasons.

  2. “That has continued in adulthood and manifests in his inability to truly bond with anyone through any method that doesn’t involve his penis”
    At first I laughed at this statement, “I can’t believe she wrote that!!!”
    Then I realized how deep this rings true and was saddened by it.
    With this as her model, it’s no wonder Kate steers clear of men and relationships.
    Love you. Love Kate. He’s an ass!

    1. Sadly, it was sardonic. As to your last point, she is spreading her wings where men are concerned, but is discerning and patient even there. At least he has shown her what she doesn’t want. I guess that’s a model of sorts. Love you back.

    1. Thanks, Fran. I have refrained from publicly displaying a lot of my ire over the years, but I couldn’t contain this one. Love you too!

  3. Wow! What a horrible family conflict. On the ironic side, I think it’s funny you have competing blogs and are fighting it out online, too. I’m rooting for you to win!

    1. I don’t think she knows that mine exists, or it would likely turn into a pretty bloody internet fight. THANK YOU for rooting for my side (which is right, of course :)!

Leave a Reply

