Pregnant with Possibility

11 thoughts on “Pregnant with Possibility”

  1. This is beautifully lucid writing. I’ve called out a couple of quotes for others to read in the commons, but here I want to thank you for putting my own pseudo-perfection into context. I’ll try to follow your lead and see myself as a ‘recovering perfectionist’ too.

  2. Oh but it is so hard to let it go. I feel I have let go of perfectionism in so many areas of my life (out of necessity), but have I let it go or have I simply accepted myself as a failure? When it comes to my creative self, my true self, I still want to be perfect. I want to believe there is a part of me that hasn’t been broken. I’m tired of all the scars and cracks. But I’m also tired of avoiding doing anything because I know it won’t be good enough (for me). And why worry about populating the world with my imperfect creations? Is the earth going to run out of room for creative expression?

    1. Dearest Tia, the world spins on creative expression. Before there were history books, there were cave paintings. When we were still small perfect beings, we loved rhymes and finger paints. We learn the world this way. I found this quotation the other day: “But what are our stories if not the mirrors we hold up to our fears?” – Wally Lamb. Tell your story and slay those dragons! And through the telling, you will help others pick up their own swords and become heroic. Please send your critic into the same corner I have banished mine. They can spend eternity quibbling about which of us is the most broken and the biggest failure. We can just get on with creation and sing loudly enough to drown them out. Deal?

  3. Ah, from one recovering perfectionist to another- you go, girl! (Remember my theory. We need to aim for 100 rejections. That means we have to fail a whole bunch of times. Let’s all get after it. 😉 )

    1. Back at you, Jen. The month-long blogging class almost killed me (work escalated during that month and hasn’t slowed down). I am so impressed with what you endeavored this past month. PLEASE don’t let your perfectionism keep you from sending your novel into the world. I will be the first to order it.

  4. Linda, Laurie told me your writing was wonderful and she was right. Good for you! This was beautifully written and I really enjoyed reading it. The part about rewriting assignments rather than turn in something with words crossed out really hit home (hooray for computers). And your comment to the nun about “did she think in full sentences”, does anyone? LOL.
    Anyway, keep writing and keep ignore the inner critic. Kathy

    1. Ah, Kathy, thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. Yes, to computers (changed my life in myriad ways). I still have to arm wrestle my inner critic, but I’ve gotten stronger and can “fell” her much easier these days. : )

      Thank you for being such a good loving friend/sister to my sister. I know you mean the world to her and I am grateful she has you (and your family) in her life.

Leave a Reply

